Roberto Bonasio receives the 2020 Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award

Roberto Bonasio will be honored for his outstanding research in the field of epigenetics with the Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award. Bonasio’s studies on ants show how the epigenetic regulation of genes can influence the behavior and appearance of individuals. Connected to the prize is a research project in collaboration with the University of Freiburg, during which he intends to investigate how the brain of the ant queen differs from that of worker ants. Please find more information on this website.

Recipients of the 2020 CDB Research Awards: Danielle Murashige and Fuming Li, PhD

We are delighted to announce the 2020 Research Awards winners for the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology.

Danielle Murashige, a graduate student in the laboratory of Zolt Arany, is the winner of the 2020 Nachmias-Thimann Prize for her work Comprehensive quantification of fuel use by the failing and non-failing human heart” published in Science. The Nachmias-Thimann prize honors both Emeritus Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology Vivianne T. Nachmias and the memory of her father, Kenneth Thimann, who served both as Professor at Harvard University and Professor and Provost at the University of California, Santa Cruz. This prize in their names recognizes outstanding research at the graduate level.

Fuming Li, a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Celeste Simon, is the winner of the 2020 Holtzer Prize for his work “FBP1 loss disrupts liver metabolism and promotes tumorigenesis through a hepatic stellate cell senescence secretome” published in Nature Cell Biology. The Hotzer prize, honoring Emeritus Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology Howard Holtzer, recognizes research at the postdoctoral level.

Danielle and Fuming will be recognized for their outstanding accomplishments at a CDB Seminar on December 3 at 11:30 am, where they will be given the opportunity to present their work. Please join us in congratulating Danielle and Fuming on being selected for these high honors.